Wednesday, January 07, 2015

And...We're Back! Jumpstart Your Genealogy Education in 2015 with New Genealogy Boot Camps

Are you ready to learn some new skills or recharge your genealogy research in 2015? Then check out the two January Boot Camps Thomas MacEntee and I will be offering:  Research Right - Tracking and Evaluating Your Genealogy Research Boot Camp and Getting Started with Scrivener Mini Boot Camp.


Research Right – Tracking and Evaluating Your Genealogy Research Boot Camp – 17 January 2015


Saturday 17 January 2015
Duration: 3.5 hours (with a 30 minute break)

11:00 am EST /10:00 am CST
Welcome / Meet & Greet
11:15 am EST / 10:15 am CST
Using and Managing a Genealogy Research Log
Thomas MacEntee

12:30 pm EST/11:30 am CST

1:00 pm EST /12:00 pm CST
Citing Sources and Evaluating Evidence

Thomas MacEntee
2:30 pm EDT / 1:30 pm CDT

Closing and Thank You

Do you struggle with tracking your genealogy research and staying organized? Do you have trouble finding an image or document you downloaded last week? And what about source citations . . . do you panic when it comes time to document your research?
You are not alone. More and more genealogists and family historians have a strong desire to break bad habits and research using more efficient methods. The Research Right Boot Camp offers a simple way to track research, cite sources and analyze data before it gets added to your genealogy database software.
Through this special Boot Camp you’ll learn not just better research habits but tips and tricks to become a better researcher.

  • Learn how to use a research log that suits your research habits.
  • Understand the basics of source citations and become efficient at creating citations on the fly.
  • Maintain good research habits and adapt them when encountering new records sets.
  • Learn how to state a proof, evaluate evidence and reach a conclusion for each specific data points on records.
Duration: 1.5 hours11:00 am EST /10:00 am CDT


Reserve your spot at


Getting Started with Scrivener Mini Boot Camp - 31 January 2015


Saturday 31 January 2015
Duration: 1.5 hours
11:00 am EST /10:00 am CDT
Getting Started with Scrivener

Lisa A. Alzo, M.F.A.

Just what is this program called Scrivener* that everyone keeps talking about? And how can you use it for your genealogy and family history projects? Scrivener by is a combination word processor and project management tool that’s affordable and simple to use. Priced under $50, this powerful application seamlessly takes you from idea to outline to finished product. Whether you are a blogger, an aspiring author, or a genealogist looking to share your family history findings, Scrivener can help you plot, organize, and publish your writing.
Already using Scrivener? You might be surprised at even some of the “secrets” you may not know that are important for a solid understanding of how to make Scrivener work for you. Here’s what you’ll get from this new Boot Camp:
NOTE: It is highly recommended that you download the free trial version of Scrivener (Available for Mac or Windows) before the boot camp in order to maximize your learning experience. Visit the Literature and Latte web store at for your free trial.
With the Scrivener Mini Boot Camp you’ll receive 1.5 hours of educational content for a special low price of $7.95! You’ll receive an extensive handout, a special Scrivener “freebie” created by instructor Lisa Alzo, as well access to the recorded version of the webinar for up to one year!
Register by Monday, 26 January 2015 and receive $3 off the registration price for a low $4.95! Space is limited and if you register but can’t attend, you’ll still receive the handout, the freebie and access to the recording!

Copyright 2015, Lisa A. Alzo and Thomas MacEntee
All Rights Reserved

No comments: