Friday, August 15, 2014

Join me for the Family Tree University Czech and Slovak Genealogy Crash Course 19 August 2014

If you have Czech or Slovak roots and don't know where or how to begin your research, come join me for the Czech and Slovak Genealogy Crash Course on Tuesday, August, 19, 2014, hosted by Family Tree University. In this crash course I will share with you my tops and tricks for researching Czech and Slovak ancestors I've developed during my 25 years as a genealogist.

Below is the description for the course from the Family Tree University website. Hope you can take advantage of this opportunity to learn about Czech and Slovak Genealogy without leaving home!

Image courtesy of: Family Tree University



Czech and Slovak Genealogy Crash Course

Format: Live Webinar Click here to register.
You'll Love This If:
  • You want to research Czech and Slovak ancestors but don't know where to start
  • You want to learn about what websites and other resources are available for Czech and Slovak research
  • You want to trace your ancestors from the US back to Slovakia or the Czech Republic
Date: Tuesday, August 19
Starting Time: 7pm ET/ 6pm CT/ 5pm MT/ 4pm PT
Presenter: 
Lisa A. Alzo
Duration: 
60 minutes
Family historians with Czech and Slovak roots share a similar assortment of brick walls, from surname issues to border changes and language troubles. Nearly 2.5 million Americans claim Czech or Slovak ancestry. If you count yourself among them, then this hour-long webinar is for you. Lisa A. Alzo, a specialist in Eastern European genealogy, will show you where to begin, which resources to consult and how to overcome the most common pitfalls and obstacles associated with tracing ancestors back to Central and Eastern Europe.  
What You'll Learn:
  • How to start searching for your Czech and Slovak ancestors
  • How to understand complex language and naming patterns
  • How to get the most out of Czech and Slovak-related online resources
  • Where to find vital records, military records, land records and more
  • What local resources exist for conducting Czech and Slovak family research
About Your Presenter:
Eastern European genealogy specialist Lisa A. Alzo received the Association for Women in Slavic Studies 2002 Mary Zirin Prize for excellence in scholarship, and serves on the Board of Directors for the Czechoslovak Genealogical Society International. Her books include Three Slovak Women (Gateway Press), Slovak Pittsburgh (Arcadia) and Cleveland Slovaks (with John T. Sabol, Arcadia). She's written numerous articles for genealogy publications, including regular contributions to Family Tree Magazine, and blogs regularly at The Accidental Genealogist.

Copyright 2014, Lisa A. Alzo and Family Tree University
All Rights Reserved
[Disclaimer: I work as a freelance instructor for Family Tree University and will be paid an instructor's fee for this webinar]

No comments: